Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

What are you reading?

Sep 14 at 10:13:35 PM
TheFinder (47)
< King Solomon >
Illinois
Still working on Les Miserables. Haven't read it much because school started up (I'm a teacher).

Listened to The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett and then rewatched the 1940 Humphrey Bogart film adaptation of it. Both are great. The movie follows the book very closely, while skipping some obviously too-risque-for-screen scenes. There's nothing like a sex scene in the book, but Spade makes a woman strip naked to search her after she denies having stolen anything in the book. He believed her denial, but he made her strip to appease the other characters who questioned her. In the movie, he accepts her word after she denies stealing. That's the sort of stuff that was changed. I recommend both is you're interested in a 1930's crime drama or a classic of film noir.

Started listening to Dracula by Bram Stoker. Never read it before, and it's amazing. Written as if all the plot is real, as the narrative comes from excerpts of journals, diaries, letters, and newspapers, each with a source and date. It's also interesting to remember that no one knew who Count Dracula was before the novel, so when the first character gets invited to his castle, he's excited to go meet a foreign count, while in my head I was wondering if he was insanse, since who would willingly go into Count Dracula's castle unprepared? Great story. I'm loving it.