NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Gamehack Modify Japanese Famicom cart with English language

Aug 8, 2016 at 9:29:23 AM
Edomatic (0)

(Edwin Pieters) < Cherub >
Alabama
Hi guys,

I hope i landed correct in the forum to ask this question, yeah, i am a newbie!
I have seen some great videos of John Riggs on how to repro using the NES cartridges, they are really fiun to watch and excellent, it shows the guy is passionate just like i believe we all are :-)
My question is this, i have a original japanese famicom console with a growing nr of japanese cartridges, i want to reprogram these same cartridges with the english language if possible as then i do not need the pin-converter and honestly i like the way the jap cartridges look with the artwork and all.
So just for clarity, what i would like to do is use the original japanese cartridges of the original 8 bit famicom console to patch the same game in english, so f.i . The jap. game "Akumajou special dracula kun" jap cart, to the same game, same cart , but with the english translation patch on it ( swapping eeeproms and the likes like John does for the UK/american NES cart version.)

If anyone can point me to a good resource that would be awesome!

thanks and hope to hear from someone paasionate about the 8 bit crazyness !

Edited: 08/08/2016 at 12:06 PM by NintendoAge Moderator

Aug 8, 2016 at 10:27:29 AM
labelwhore (0)

< Crack Trooper >
Colorado
First, I'd start by finding a copy of the rom online. You have the original crtridge, there's nothing that says you need to get the rom off that specific cartridge. If you can find it online, download it. It's just eaier.