Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Tipping in the food service industry

Sep 21 at 5:52:19 PM
bootload (8)

< El Ripper >
Alabama
I refuse to tip at any time. I go out for drinks probably once a week, we order pizza once a week, sometimes more. I've never given a tip to anyone and here's why.

Servers typically take care of 5-7 tables (or more). They turn over these tables at least every hour and each bill is probably $40 on average. If they're making 15% tip on each table, they're making an additional $30+ per hour on top of their wages. I have a university degree, I busted my ass and I make a respectable wage but I work way harder than them and certainly don't make much more than $40 per hour. I know not every server is making that much because some tables don't tip and some are lower bills but if you're saying everyone should tip 15%, then you are saying that server deserves to make over $40 per hour. That's ridiculous.

When I go out to eat, I pay $16 for a hamburger I could make myself at home for $4 and I pay $6 for a beer I could buy at the store for $2. So I'm paying $16 just to have someone else cook my meal, bring it to me and wash the dishes. I think it's pretty reasonable to expect that for $14 and they should do it with a smile, but if I leave a tip, what am I paying for? I already paid $16 for the service so what is the tip for? More service? I don't understand, the service is already paid for with the crazy price of the hamburger and beer, what am I tipping for?