Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Hold reset while powering down? Is this still needed for battery-backed carts?

Jul 22 at 9:28:39 AM
tjsnhgaming (0)
< Cherub >
I just had my first experience with a cart losing a save, and happened to be using an AVS.

Is the whole "hold reset while powering off" thing needed with the AVS? Anyone else run into issues?

Jul 22 at 10:03:04 AM
Tulpa (2)
< Wiz's Mom >
California
AFAIK you still need to do the reset thing when powering down a battery game.

Someone here I think reported Final Fantasy lost a save when they didn't do that. Probably a function of the cartridge and not the AVS.

Jul 22 at 10:05:11 AM
Gloves (110)
(Douglas Glover) < Wiz's Mom >
Ontario
I'm no expert on the inner workings of NES carts and I'm sure someone else here could pop in and give a real answer, but if I had to GUESS - Maybe it's something to do with hitting Reset giving the cart the time it needs to write some final data to memory while shutting off power literally cuts all power to the cart quite abruptly perhaps causes it to lose that pertinent data.

-------------------------

Jul 22 at 10:07:43 AM
arch_8ngel (68)
(Nathan ?) < Mario >
Virginia
Originally posted by: Gloves

I'm no expert on the inner workings of NES carts and I'm sure someone else here could pop in and give a real answer, but if I had to GUESS - Maybe it's something to do with hitting Reset giving the cart the time it needs to write some final data to memory while shutting off power literally cuts all power to the cart quite abruptly perhaps causes it to lose that pertinent data.
Would have thought the cart was writing to the SRAM whenever a "save" was created in-game (if not continuously).

Always figured it was just to give the cartridge the cleanest power-down profile as possible (minimize risk of surge, etc)