Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

"Console-perfect" NES emulation It's 2014. Why is this so hard?

Sep 30, 2014 at 2:09:49 AM
PatrickM. (1)
< El Ripper >
Texas
"console-perfect" NES emulation

It's 2014. Why is this so hard?

So, I've basically come full circle and gone from playing emulators to playing on real hardware back to playing emulators, since I no longer have room for my massive 32" Sony CRT after moving to a new place.

I've been expirementing with emulators and have noticed that NES emulation is still in a pretty sorry state for 2014. I guess I didn't notice all these problems until after I started playing on a real CRT again. I've tried a number of emulators and I either had to deal with input lag, screen tearing, compatibility issues, or accuracy/timing problems or unable to run fullscreen without encountering said issues. No single emulator I tried was anywhere near "console perfect." I mean, seriously? Why is is that hard to get perfect NES emulation on the level of, say, ZSNES for the SNES (a 10+ year old program)?

Then I found retroarch, and acheived NES emulation Nirvana. The problem with retroarch is that the interface is total garbage and very unintuitive. I had to play around with settings more or less at random to get the ideal configuration but when I finally did it was all worth it.

Here's what I did to get a "console perfect" experience using retroarch:

-first of all, use z and x for cancel and accept. It took me forever to figure this out and I thought the program was broken at first. Then you can configure your controller and use it to navigate the GUI.