Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

I Want To Finally Make a NES Game!

Aug 17, 2018 at 10:54:12 AM
davidpgil (0)
< Cherub >
New York
Hi everyone. I am a veteran Gameboy, Gameboy Advance and Nintendo DS artist that has done a bit of everything. I have worked for Powerhead Games (~11 years), Sifteo (~1.5 years) and High 5 Games (~5 years) and various Freelance Clients such as Digital Hero Games and Navitude. As well as creating 2D (Adobe CC, GIMP, Krita, Inkscape) and 3D (3D Studio MAX, Maya, Cinema 4D, Blender) art, I can code in HTML5 (Intermediate), C/C++ (Basic), Javascript (Intermediate), Python (Intermediate) and 6502 ASM (Novice). I know some basics about music (Drums, Piano, Bass, Guitar, Audacity, MilkyTracker) composition as well and have an ear for music.

I have experimented with some game makers/engines such as Unity, Unreal and I recreated the Strider NES intro in Godot Engine (Free and Open Source) to see how I like the engine. Ultimately, I realized I need to do things from scratch because I want maximum control with no compromises. I am currently teaching myself NES Assembly because I want to play with making NES games from scratch. I looked into NESMaker but I want to keep my workflow GNU/Linux (Trisquel distro) only. I am trying my best to just stick with Linux because I like and want to support open source software.

I have been doing the "Nerdy Nights" series and am today at week 5. I have managed to get a decent GNU/Linux workflow going with Atom, NESASM (built for Linux), and Mesen which I currently use for its PPU viewer. I have a virtual machine (QEMU/KVM) setup with Windows 7 on it that I use to compare results from the "Nerdy Nights" tutorials which were created for Windows, just to make sure I am doing things correctly according to the tutorials. My ultimate goal is to make and perhaps sell physical retro game carts and work as a solo indie Game Developer.