Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

World Building with SGP: Introductions Being a Series of Reflections on NES Development

Oct 24, 2014 at 8:00:04 AM
SoleGooseProductions (129)
(Beau ) < King Solomon >
Michigan
Introduction to the Series

Welcome to World Building with SGP! What follows is a series of reflections that have spawned from my own experiences attempting to learn NES programming. I am not an expert when it comes to writing code, drawing graphics, composing sound, or designing levels, but hopefully these thoughts will be of use to someone. I plan to add to these reflections as I attempt new aspects of game development, and earlier lessons will be refined as my knowledge and experience grow. These are very much an extension of what I have learned here on NA and through reading various articles on NESDEV and elsewhere, and a cumulative bibliography will be added at some point. Please comment, critique (constructively one hopes), and discuss things as you see fit. This initial post will serve as a table of contents of sorts, and each chapter will have its own thread. Keep a lookout for an alternative form of presentation in the future too. Also, please note that they are written mainly with an eye toward creating overhead adventure games. As I attempt other game play perspectives, thoughts on these will be incorporated.