Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

To the team behind the XMAS carts

Jan 12 at 2:38:22 PM
Shane (146)
(Excellence of Execution) < King Solomon >
United States
Let me preface by saying I love the XMAS carts, I've been a customer for several of the releases but this past year's is the first time where I haven't felt the urge to buy. During the Christmas season I fired up the multi cart and found that, in my opinion, the games haven't been that great over the past few years. Exclude the pinball year, that's a fun one.

I'm not a programmer so no offense is intended but I feel like the gameplay is pretty bland. There's been threads made where users have thrown out some pretty rockin ideas on what kind of game they'd like to see but it feels like they're totally overlooked and we get a simple game that's fun for five minutes. Personally I'd rather have a rockin fun Christmas game than a novelty item. If these are intended to be a novelty item with a bland game then that's just something to accept.

However I'd like to encourage the people behind the XMAS carts to put more effort into producing a fun game rather than relying on the blinky lights to sell a product that's fun for five minutes.

Jan 12 at 2:43:55 PM
Gloves (110)
(Douglas Glover) < Wiz's Mom >
Ontario
Something I've noticed people saying a fair bit in the brewing community is this sentiment that nobody is actually PLAYING their Homebrew games. I can't speak to that being a "reason" for what you're talking about as I know nothing of the gameplay on these Xmas carts (I simply don't follow them), but it seems like that might make some sense. Perhaps these carts are seen by those creating them as a novelty rather than the next big Homebrew hit.

It kinda makes sense - anything Xmas themed you generally whip it out on the holiday, ooh and aww at it for a bit, then move on.

-------------------------

Jan 12 at 3:15:14 PM
bunnyboy (81)
(Funktastic B) < Master Higgins >
California