Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Marks Of Developers That Finish Homebrews What are some marks that show whether or not someone will finish a game?

Oct 02 at 3:55:46 PM
LambBrainz (0)

(Mason Stooksbury) < Cherub >
Kentucky
Hello! My name is LambBrainz and I'm new here. I've got several years of programming experience (professional and hobby) and I've started work on my own homebrew (Already spent wayyy too many hours of research and started the Nerdy Nights guide.

For those among you that have been on the forums a while, I'm sure you've seen many newcomers that show up, get really excited about their game, ask for help, hit a wall, and eventually fizzle out. So my question is this:

What are some indicators to you that tell you whether or not someone will continue making their game to the end?

Yes, obviously, not giving up is one lol. But are there any early indicators that you've noticed?

Thanks so much, and I look forward to getting to know and talk to you all!
LambBrainz

Oct 02 at 4:19:02 PM
Tulpa (2)
< Wiz's Mom >
California
Regular updates and transparency (esp. in regards to crowdfunding.)

Those who talk a big game up front but then disappear seem to be the ones to not continue their project.

Oct 02 at 4:22:33 PM
LambBrainz (0)

Kentucky
By transparency, do you mean like, "Hey here's my game, here's what it's about, blah blah blah"? Or mostly like "Here's exactly how I'd spend every dollar"?

Oct 02 at 4:29:21 PM
Tulpa (2)
< Wiz's Mom >
California
I don't think it has to be an exact breakdown to the dollar, but a reason for the Kickstarter is appreciated. Like the game, Rollie, has this on their page.

https://www.kickstarter.com/proje...

"Risks and challenges

The programming of Rollie is 100% finished. However, the physical production of NES cartridges is costly. This Kickstarter campaign serves as a way to raise funds for that goal."

Oct 02 at 4:31:46 PM
LambBrainz (0)

Kentucky