Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Question of possibility Coding a sega game onto snes ?

Dec 4, 2012 at 10:59:30 AM
acidjaguar (668)
(Lloyd Christmas) < Bowser >
Montana
Wow this got crazy ! I haven't looked back here for a little bit now. Sorry to spark such a heated debate!

You know since I'm not a programmer or started down that road yet I will be simply getting a retrogen to play my old faves ...

Thanks for the quick run down Aaendi and I will revisit this if I decide to give it a go. Thanks everyone for your input

-------------------------
Please see the new goodness:   www.videogamesage.com

Dec 4, 2012 at 1:54:34 PM
Aaendi (0)

(Andy Koenigs) < Eggplant Wizard >
United States
Originally posted by: MottZilla

Flicker of sprites has nothing to do with the CPU. This is just like that rumor I saw all over saying that "slowdown in games intentional so the game doesn't crash".

Why haven't I heard that rumor before?  I've heard a lot of rumors about CPU speed and slowdowns, but not that one.  There is a hair of truth in it, because from my experience, in order for it to automatically slowdown when needed, you have to keep the NMI interrupt disabled, until the end of the main routine.  If the NMI is kept enabled throughout the frame, the NMI will cut the CPU off in the middle of the main routine, causing glitches and possibly even a crash.

EDIT: Accidentally got NMI and IRQ mixed up.  Fixed.

Edited: 12/05/2012 at 03:19 PM by Aaendi

Dec 4, 2012 at 3:24:31 PM
pegboy (44)
< Bowser >
Washington
Isn't the sprite flicker just a result of the 8 sprite/scanline limit? So they interleave the sprites every other frame to display more at a time? I'm not a expert.

Dec 4, 2012 at 4:56:00 PM
Aaendi (0)

United States
Originally posted by: pegboy

Isn't the sprite flicker just a result of the 8 sprite/scanline limit? So they interleave the sprites every other frame to display more at a time? I'm not a expert.