Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

RetroUSB AVS & Reproductions Question

Jul 30, 2018 at 10:54:55 AM
Ronin64 (0)

< Cherub >
Alabama
Hi, I recently got my AVS and am really liking it, but I was wondering how it works with reproductions. I ordered a rom hack reproduction from OCDRreproductions.com and I'm a little paranoid it may not work. Does the AVS play Reproductions from donors just as well as the NES does? I know the AVS works with most everything the real NES does, but I'd just like some reassurance.
Also another question about the AVS. I was also looking in to getting a Mr.Gimmik reproduction from the same website, but they offer two versions, Regular Audio & Full Audio. But it says you need "the full audio mod" for Full Audio version. Does the AVS support this?

Sorry if these question are obvious, but I'm new to these things.
Thanks in advance.

Jul 30, 2018 at 11:58:01 AM
Tulpa (2)
< Wiz's Mom >
California
I have two reproductions, the homebrew Blade Buster and a bootleg of the Famicom game Recca (on a donor NES board, not a Famicom board with the adapter.) Both play with no hitches. There were a few glitches before on earlier firmware on some homebrew titles, but most if not all of those should have been addressed. If anything, you can shoot [email protected] an email if you encounter any.

Jul 30, 2018 at 12:27:10 PM
Lincoln (138)
(Frank W. Doom) < Bowser >
California
You should expect the avs to play anything an original NES does. There may be some edge case issues but those usually get fixed with firmware updates.

The audio mod is reqyired for square body NES only. The avs supports expansion audio out of the box.

-------------------------
ebay auctionsrunning FS thread famiROM thread for .nes info and splitting / rom hacks link/discussion

Jul 30, 2018 at 1:35:30 PM
dragonwarrior83 (36)
(Nick R) < Meka Chicken >
Georgia