Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

Tech Talk Why haven't you learned to program for NES yet? Come tell us.

Aug 8, 2016 at 9:25:00 AM
user (6)

< El Ripper >
Originally posted by: Daniel_Doyce
I'm still cringing at the thought of having to develop my own graphics eventually, though  
Thanks for making me discover a new English verb, to cring.  
(yes, English is not my first language, so discovering new words is part of the fun posting in an English forum).

A year or so ago I tried to put together a quick minimal tutorial on pixel art basics, but the feedback and the result were scarce. Other attempted bigger tutorials on the subject, but these works were dropped half-way. So, yes, a good tutorial on this specific issue, here in this brewery is missing.

I'm not a big artist, but I dare give you my two cents advice with your own graphics; start from easy shapes:

Not too hard.

Yep, it is is kind of boring to look at, but you know what each tile is about: a number, a shield, a symbol or a sword.
You comunicate a thing, and this is your first goal when you draw something. And you start get the hand to draw in pixels.

Then, once you can think about how to draw something in 8px or 16px canvas, you can start to think about how to drop shadows, add highlights, which colors contarst better with each other, and so on.

Again, not a big artist myself, there is a lot of stuff I still have to learn about pixel art.

All I want to say it is that to experiment with your own code in your first game, simple shapes are good enough to say: this game is 100% mine! There is no need to worry about drawing 8 bit graphics masterpieces.  

Edit: misspelling.

Edited: 08/08/2016 at 09:27 AM by user

Sep 2, 2016 at 8:39:26 AM
user (6)

< El Ripper >
Originally posted by: bunnyboy