Skip navigation
NintendoAge
Welcome, Guest! Please Login or Join

NES vs. SNES Dev

Oct 06 at 6:25:04 PM
Jharmonious (0)

< Cherub >
Hey friends, I am brand new to Nintendo age and am just getting started with the whole process of homebrewed gaming. I've never done any coding or anything of the sort, but I am totally down to start the process of making a game from scratch. The first game that I wanted to try my hand at is a turn-based RPG. I'm posting this with the hopes that this community can point me in the right direction. I wanted to make it for the SNES, but most of what I see is an interest in NES. Is there a reason that homebrewers stay away from the SNES that I am unaware of in my ignorance, or is that a misconception that I've projected? I found the Nerdy nights lessons on NES developmment, which I'm going to continue to go through, but is there something comparable that anyone is aware of from SNES development? Any other advice for a beginner would obviously be appreciated . If no one replies I understand, I'm asking you all to take time from your day to post so I don't need to search the deep recess of the internet for the info. If I have to do that work, then I will, but I figured I'd ask for some help from some wise people in this new group that I've joined. I am going to be using a mac as of now. I appreciate anyone who took the time to read this and anyone who takes the time to help me on my journey

Oct 06 at 6:44:55 PM
TylerBarnes (0)
(Tyler Barnes) < Tourian Tourist >
Texas
The SNES is an extension on how the NES operated and implements much the same ideas on architecture and coding philosophies. Going through Nerdy Nights will be very helpful when transitioning to SNES cause it will more or less be a lot of the same but in a more complex and capable form. This should help you along your first ventures into SNES: https://georgjz.github.io/snesaa0...

Oct 06 at 6:52:25 PM
Jharmonious (0)

< Cherub >
Dude,